The Essential Naguib Mahfouz: Novels, Short Stories, Autobiography

The Essential Naguib Mahfouz: Novels, Short Stories, Autobiography

AUC Press

  • LE 350.00
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Only 1 left!

Denys Johnson-Davies

A carefully curated selection of the most important works of Egypt's Nobel literature laureate in a single volume

Naguib Mahfouz, the first and only writer of Arabic to be awarded the Nobel prize for literature, wrote prolifically from the 1930s until shortly before his death in 2006, in a variety of genres: novels, short stories, plays, screenplays, a regular weekly newspaper column, and in later life his intensely brief and evocative Dreams. His Cairo Trilogy achieved the status of a world classic, and the Swedish Academy of Letters in awarding him the 1988 Nobel prize for literature noted that Mahfouz Òthrough works rich in nuanceÑnow clear-sightedly realistic, now evocatively ambiguousÑhas formed an Arabic narrative art that applies to all mankind.Ó

Here Denys Johnson-Davies, described by Edward Said as Òthe leading ArabicÐEnglish translator of our time,Ó makes an essential selection of short stories and extracts from novels and other writings, to present a cross-section through time of the very best of the work of EgyptÕs Nobel literature laureate.